Newletter Masthead
September 1998 · Vol. 23, No. 2, p. 18

AAPL names Rappeport Fellows for 1998-99

The American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (AAPL) is pleased to announce the selection of four Rappeport Fellows for 1998-99. The fellowship, open to psychiatric residents who are interested in forensic psychiatry, is named in honor of Jonas R. Rappeport MD, one of AAPL's founders and the organization's medical director until his retirement in 1995.

Each Rappeport Fellow receives one year's membership in AAPL and a travel scholarship to attend the 1998 Annual Meeting. Each Fellow is also assigned to a preceptor, a senior forensic psychiatrist who will be available throughout the fellowship year to guide the Fellow's training.

The 1998-99 Rappeport Fellows are:

John Deirmenjian MD, a resident at the University of California at Los Angeles. Dr. Deirmenjian, who originally trained as a surgeon, has an interest in psychopharmacology which he hopes to integrate into an academic forensic practice.

Tonya Foreman MD is a child psychiatry resident at the University of Florida. Dr. Foreman has worked with juvenile offenders and would like to have an impact on securing adequate mental health care for the incarcerated mentally ill.

Eric Jarvis MD is a resident at McGill University. Dr. Jarvis plans a career in research. He is interested in the impact of societal stereotypes of ethnicity and gender and how these perceptions affect the outcome of psychotic states.

Ruth Perez MD is a fellow in geriatric psychiatry and served as Chief Resident at St. Vincent's Hospital in New York. Her present research interest is geriatric patients' capacity to consent for inpatient medical treatment.