Newletter Masthead
September 2001 · Vol. 26, No. 3, p. 12

AAPL names Rappeport Fellows for 2001-2002

The American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law is pleased to announce the selection of five Rappeport Fellows for 2001-2002. The fellowship, open to psychiatric residents who are interested in forensic psychiatry, is named in honor of Jonas R. Rappeport MD, one of AAPL's founders and the organization's medical director until his retirement in 1995.

Each Rappeport Fellow will receive one year's membership in AAPL and a travel scholarship to attend the 2001 Annual Meeting. Each Fellow is also assigned to a preceptor - a senior forensic psychiatrist who will be available throughout the fellowship year to help guide the Fellow's training.

The 2001-2002 Rappeport Fellows are:

Thomas G. Cobb MD is a resident at the University of Michigan. He is in the clinical education track, receiving training and experience in educating medical students and residents.

Britta Ostermeyer MD is a resident at Columbia University. She is a graduate of Hanover Medical School in Germany and has done postgraduate training in Neurology. Her interests are psychiatry and the law, public affairs and legislation, and ethics.

Fabian Saleh MD is a resident at Johns Hopkins Hospital. In 1998 and 1999 he was Chief Resident in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University. He is a therapist for paraphilic men at the National Institute for the Study, Prevention, and Treatment of Sexual Trauma.

Renee Marie Sorrentino MD is a resident at the Massachusetts General Hospital and McLean Hospital Combined Program. She organized and leads a Journal Club for residents and will be Chief Resident at the Massachusetts General Hospital inpatient psychiatric unit in 2002.

Patricia Karen Wiebe MD is a resident at the University of Toronto. She served on the psychiatry curriculum committee there. She has received a Resident Prize in Psychotherapy and her recent research has been on suicide in Nunavut.